How To Find My Microsoft Phone With Microsoft Find My Device
Find My Phone is a really cool and helpful feature that comes pre-installed in Windows 8 Phones which can be used to track your lost, stolen or misplaced windows device.
You must have a PC or a Laptop with a working internet connection and your device must fulfill following conditions to get located by Microsoft Find My Phone:
- Airplane mode must be off
- Find My Phone feature must be on in order to get traced.
How to Use Find My Phone
Follow these simple steps to use Find My Phone:
- Go to https://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/my/find
- Sign in with the Microsoft account linked to lost phone
- Click on Find My Phone
- Your Phone will be located and shown on map
You will get three options, you can either:
- Play a sound on your lost device (to know if it is nearby)
- Lock your device and display a message on screen.
- Erase your device permanently
Play A Sound On Your Lost Device
Play a sound or Ring your phone option will allow you to ring your device in full volume even it was on silent/vibrate mode so that you can hear if it is located near you.
To Ring your device, simply click the ring my phone option and you will be asked to enter your phone number associated with your phone.
If you hear the phone’s ring, you will come to know that it is anywhere near you in the house.
It is a very common thing for a phone to get misplaced even in your house so you don’t have to worry, just try and ring your phone to locate it.
Lock Your Device
By using this option you can lock your device permanently until you find it, and you can also display a custom message on the screen to display your contact information so that the person who finds your phone, can return it to you.
You should use this option for your lost device to prevent its misuse. One good thing this option provides you is that if your phone was not already password protected, it will ask you to set a password when you select Lock Your Device.
Then you can enter a custom message that will be displayed on your phone’s screen so that the person who finds your device can contact you.
Erase Your Device
You can use this option if there is no hope that you will find your phone. This option will erase all the data stored on your device and reset it to factory settings.
When you click Erase, you will get a warning message if you really want to erase your phone or not. Select yes and all of your data will be wiped and your phone will be restored to default factory settings.